Mother’s Day Weekend

A wonderful weekend has just passed by and another great one to look forward to. With the sun shinning it is impossible not to enjoy time with family and friends, especially with birthdays and mother’s day to celebrate. Calgary hit a scorching 27 degrees celsius on saturday and sunday. On friday night I had my best friend Meaghan over for her 26th birthday to celebrate and also to fake her out, little did she realize that her real surprise party (2nd annual games night) was planned for saturday. We had a few friends over for dinner. I made a standard lemon dill salmon, side of mashed potatoes, corn on the cob and southwestern salad with homemade creamy cilantro dressing. I personally find cilantro delicious, but it is one of those ingredients that people either love or hate. Turns out my husband Brett enjoyed it a lot, thankfully he isn’t a picky eater either so it is easily to experiment new recipes on him. We then ended the meal with some gourmet donuts made by “Modern Jelly”, and oh my they were delicious. The coconut one was my favourite.

Southwestern Salad with Creamy Cilantro Dressing: Simple to make, takes about 10-15 minutes at most, a light refreshing salad for a barbeque, taste delicious (but must like cilantro). I guess I should start using a better camera to take pictures of these creations, my Itouch doesn’t seem to do it justice. I like to give credit where credit is due as most of these are not my recipes so here is the link for the recipe, hope you enjoy it. http://www.thegardengrazer.com/2013/04/southwestern-chopped-salad-with.html?_szp=343154 Image

Saturday morning we woke up with the anticipation of playing some tennis with our cousin Kaleigh. Well I had another breakfast recipe to try to get us going for the day. As I was collecting the ingredients to start, my husband was already finishing the leftover donuts from the day before with a fresh cup of coffee, he just couldn’t wait!

So we had Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookie Pancakes: Super simple to make. I do love how this recipe accomodates vegans, however since we are not and I didn’t want to go through the trouble of making flax egg as the recipe listed, I substituted it with an egg. Takes 10-15 minutes at the most. Super filling. It seems like a popular one as friends are asking for the recipe already. Any crowd would love it including kids.

Image

After playing tennis Brett thought his friend Andy would be coming over for an afternoon beer before going to the surprise party, so I started preparing some appetizers. To our dismay half way through my preparation he found out he also had a birthday party to go to.  So me and Brett had a lovely meal to ourselves which is pictured in my first blog. The surprise party was a successful event beginning with the birthday girl screaming her head off at the door as we screamed “surprise” from the darkness of her own house. She was just coming home from her brother in law’s birthday dinner and was expecting to get changed to go to yet another birthday party.

On mother’s day we stumble over to my parent’s place for lunch (we also were celebrating my dad’s birthday which was actually on saturday). The joke is that we never know what we are eating 50% of the time when it comes to my dad’s cooking, but he loves doing it. My dad always makes us care packages to take home. When my husband opens them, he always ask what is it, and I never have an answer. It’s always a best guess at most, but they are usually delicious and savoury.

Mother’s day evening consisted of having Brett’s dad and step mom over for dinner. I served homemade turkey burgers, quinoa kale patties, and apple bacon coleslaw. All pinterest inspirations.

Turkey Burgers: super simple basically mixing everything into a bowl and forming patties. Tasty with whatever toppings you decide to use. We topped it with jalapeno jack and crispy bacon sitting on a lettuce bed rather than a bun. Can store in fridge and freezer for future meals making it a very convenient recipe!!! http://userealbutter.com/2008/05/03/turkey-burgers-recipe/

fe1f0d05b2e7b64fe641e58dde3cbfba

Quinoa Kale Patties: Another super simple recipe, if you already have the leftover quinoa ready to go it is also basically mixing everything into a bowl! Same as the turkey burgers you can refridgerate the batter and use for later in the week. Oh and all the suggested toppings are amazing with the patty! http://www.thefrisky.com/photos/frisky-eats-8-unexpected-ways-to-cook-quinoa/quinoa-kale-patties/

6983c6292f7b0c85d6c4d6190081ba18

Apple Bacon Coleslaw: actually easy to make BUT shredding all the ingredients took me a lot longer than I initially predicted. I think I spent at least a good 30 minutes on the chopping board  (at least it seemed like it). My husband suggested the food processor but for some reason that felt like cheating and I followed through with the repetative task. Tasted amazing and once again easy to store for the remainder of the week. Perfect for a barbeque. http://www.ghettofoodie.com/fromCocktailDeeva/2012/08/19/apple-bacon-coleslaw/

c7e7ac898587bfc92a4dafda97444acb

We then finished the meal with Honey Roasted Fig Parfaits: Very difficult to find fresh figs (three grocery stores and still couldn’t find fresh figs, managed to get figs at superstore that were half fresh and half dried, but they did the trick), but once you do it is a simple recipe to make. Super tasty and somewhat of a healthy dessert. http://www.greenplaterule.com/recipes/honey-roasted-fig-yogurt-parfaits-make-ahead/

IMG_1651

Thus ends a long fun weekend of amazing food and friends. Got to say that was a lot of birthdays! Enjoy the recipes which you can make every single once ahead of time so you can spend more time chatting with your guest!

Leave a Reply

