Stagette Dinner and Leftover Mash.

It was a beautiful weekend even though it was forecasted to be quite a rainy one. A good friend had her stagette out in the majestic lure of Banff and it was a whole lot of fun. The day consisted of crazy games, great food, and awesome company.

 I came out for the Saturday portion of the party. They had a delicious brunch set up for us at 10:30 am in their chalet, which consisted of coffee, tea, variety of fruits, two types of croissants, sausages, eggs, toast, bagels, oatmeal, two different homemade egg quiches, and an amazing homemade egg tart. Mmmmmm heaven. It was a pleasant surprise because I had initially thought we were going out for brunch (apparently I have troubles reading details of events on facebook. Thankfully my friend who carpooled with me was aware of the plan). After the brunch we had an amazing time completing a very competitive scavenger hunt. The finish line ended up in front of Banff Springs Hotel where we played a quick game of bowling. 

Back at our hotel we all got ready for some smaller games before going out for a glorious dinner. I have to admit dinner is always my favourite part of any party. You get to sit and talk to friends, family, even strangers, while engorging yourself on tasty foods and fancy drinks. I am totally a glutton when it comes to food, however I am very controlled in everyday life with portions, and only on special occasions do I pig out. It also helps that I keep active and usually eat healthier choices. The restaurant we attended that night is called The Balkan, a wonderful Greek restaurant. The interior was warm, welcoming and very accommodating to large parties. We had a set menu where we could pick between two items for our salad, entree, and dessert. The appetizer platter was humungous and almost everyone was full after trying each type. The calamari was fantastic, and I tend to judge a restaurant very poorly if they can’t get that dish correct. I also ordered the famous Greek dish of flaming cheese also known as “Saganaki”, as a starter to share (live a little right?). All the entrees were amazing, I managed to have a few bites of my steak and prawns before packing it up for my husband to eat later on. Sadly though the downfall of the meal was the dessert. Both were very disappointing, one tasted like nothing and the baklava did not meet the standards I expected. I have had this dessert several times at various places in Calgary and they hit a home run every time. I guess you can’t have it all. The restaurant was amazing overall and I would recommend it to anyone. But then again I recommend to try every restaurant at least once for your own experience, whether I think they are bad or not. 

http://www.banffbalkan.ca/ 

Image

 

Back at home with no time to pick up groceries and catching up on chores. Monday night dinner is whatever is leftover in the kitchen. This is what I managed to come up with and it was pretty tasty. (Some might frown at the combination of ingredients). I’ll call it Spaghetti Squash with Prawns and Avocado. 

Image

Ingredients:

Two Bell Peppers (cubed)

One Spaghetti Squash (Halved and baked for 30 – 45 minutes depending on size and oven)

Two Yellow Onions (diced)

Salt

Pepper

Olive Oil

Jumbo Prawns (thawed and shell removed)

Ripe Avocados (I used three because I had three to get rid of them)

Directions:

Take the onions and saute them in a few tablespoons of olive oil, add peppers once onions have cooked for a minute or two. Cook for about 5 minutes and throw in prawns. Season with salt and pepper. Cook the prawns until they are no longer clear, they become pink on the outside (make sure not to overcook them otherwise they become chewy, estimated about 5 more minutes in the pan).

Scrape out the inside of the squash onto a plate. Scoop the sauteed ingredients on top of the squash. Then top with ripe avocado that has been chopped up or mashed. Surprisingly it turned out tastier than I thought it would. 

Keep experimenting with your meals (and everything else in your life), you never know what you’ll create. Sometimes I fail miserably and we end up choking down the meal or popping a pizza in the oven. That’s the fun in life, not knowing how it will turn out. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

