Slow Cooker Korean Kalbi Ribs with a Summery Salad

Well I had decided to make ribs for my best friend and her boyfriend Monday night, however they both ended up working. Most of my friends are workaholics, but so am I. Monday was my only day to relax and I still tried to plan something. I had already defrosted the ribs so I had decided to make them anyways. Leftover ribs are amazing, so why not.

Slow Cooker Ribs in Korean Kalbi Marinade and Tomatillo

Ingredients:

2 racks of pork ribs

Korean Kalbi Marinade Sauce

Tomatillo Sauce

Directions:

I had defrosted two racks of pork ribs in the fridge overnight. Cut them into individual ribs and placed them into the slow cooker. Place about 1/2 a bottle of the korean kalbi sauce into the slow cooker and 1/4 bottle of tomatillo sauce. Cook for 4 hours in the slow cooker, but the longer you cook them the more tender they will be. I stirred them once every hour to give the meat on top a chance to soak in the juices as well.

Once finished in the slow cooker place the ribs into a casserole dish. Pour the leftover sauce and juices into a saucepan and simmer for about 15 minutes or until thickened (whisking occasionally during the simmering process). If you are in a rush you can use a thickening agent such as flour, cornstarch, agar agar, etc.

Once the sauce has thickened, pour over ribs in the casserole dish. Bake at 400 degrees celsius for 15-20 minutes. Optional to sprinkle with roasted sesame seeds afterwards.

Image

Simple Summery Salad

No work at all. Combine 1 bunch of chopped kale, 1/2 a head of romaine lettuce, 1/2 container of baby arugula, 1 container cherry tomatoes, 1/2 large container of blueberries, crumble 1/2 package of cooked bacon overtop.

Use whatever salad dressing you desire. I used my favourite Newman’s Parmesan Garlic Dressing.

Image

Who said you can’t have a nice dinner for just two people. It was almost a gluten free meal except that the marinade sauce has wheat in it. Easy to substitute it for a gluten free one though.

I cheated and bought a store made black forest cake to make my life easier. I did however bring out an old classic that me and my husband came up with a few years ago when we were obsessed with this Honey Green Tea drink from superstore. They frequently sold out of the drink and had the out of stock label for years. I was grocery shopping the other day and spotted its glorious return, boy was I excited. We called it “Macha Gin”, which is funny because there is no macha in it. Anyways simple and tasty.

Macha Gin

1 cup Tao Ti Honey Green Tea (if the gin is too strong pour more)

1 ounce Bombay gin

3 ice cubes

Image

(Don’t worry the cat didn’t get a chance to drink any).

Image

It was a great easy meal, too bad there wasn’t extra company to enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

