Red Thai Coconut Curry and Auntie Val’s Chilli Cheese Dip

So after almost three weeks of craving a Thai curry dish, I finally decided to make one. I spent hours looking at recipes and browsing which restaurants to go and eat at. However when I finally got down to making it, I was way too lazy to go to the grocery store to buy a bunch of ingredients listed on those recipes. I said to myself, let’s just throw things together and see what happens. Luckily I had already anticipated that I would be making a stir fry type dish this week, so I had ingredients in the fridge that worked perfectly. Back to experimentation again, it is the best way to find new exciting results. This is what I ended up with.

Red Thai Coconut Curry

Ingredients:

1 package Jumbo Prawns

2 bell peppers sliced into strips

1 yellow onion diced

1 package white button mushrooms sliced

4 bunches of baby Bok Choy

1 table spoon minced garlic

1 tablespoon minced ginger

2 tablespoon of Thai spice

2 tablespoon of fish sauce

1 table spoon yellow curry power

3-6 tablespoons red curry paste (use as much as you like to get the spice level you want)

1 can of coconut milk

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 lime – juice

Salt and pepper to taste

Vermicelli or Rice or Quinoa

 

Directions: Heat the olive oil in the wok. Add onions, minced garlic, minced ginger, and mushrooms. Let sit for 2 minutes while the onions and mushroom soften. Add fish sauce, red curry paste, yellow curry powder, lime juice and spices to the mixture. Stir. Add bell peppers and Bok Choy to the wok, cook until Bok Choy becomes partially wilted. Add coconut milk to wok, stir and let sit at a simmer for a few minutes. Depending on the texture you prefer, leave it longer for softer veggies or just a few minutes for crunchy veggies.

IMG_5507

IMG_5508IMG_5509IMG_5510

Add the de-shelled jumbo prawns to the wok and cook until tender (do not over-cook prawns otherwise they become chewy). About 2 minutes should do the trick. Season with salt and pepper and more Thai spices if needed.

IMG_5514

While cooking the curry, cook whatever side you would like with it. Suggestions jasmine rice, quinoa, or vermicelli. My husband is on a bit of a diet trying to shed some weight he gained on vacation and wants to try his best to stick to a Paleo diet again. He just had the curry without the side dish. We literally had 7 days in a row of either burgers or hot dogs on our vacation, including pizza, tons of bacon and eggs. Let’s just say road trips and family gatherings are a butt load of fun, but extremely taxing on the arteries. I’m in the same boat with trying to lose a few pounds, but I’m not as strict on what I eat as to how big the portions are. I had mine with a cup of vermicelli noodles (I feel it is necessary to have something to soak up the curry juice and flavours).

IMG_5517

Speaking of family, my auntie Val made a delicious dipping appetizer while we were out visiting. It’s the simplest recipe ever. In a crock pot place a layer of chilli, cream cheese, and shredded cheese. Bake in oven at 350 degrees Celsius for about 30 minutes (or until everything is warm, melted, and super gooey). I’m going to call it Chilli Cheese Dip since I didn’t catch its name. Auntie Val got it from a friend and now I am passing it along as well. Sounds like an amazing campfire dish! No wonder I love family and friend gatherings so much, it always means tasty food! I can’t wait for the next one, which is going to be a fun girl’s night at the new pub “The Pint” on 17th Ave! Chow!

Leave a Reply

