Desserts Galore: Part Two

It’s not often that I get to make so many desserts. I love to bake but I refuse to have it in my house so we don’t eat it all. We are healthy people 90% of the time and I want to keep it that way. On this occasion my brother and his fiancé had asked me to make bite size desserts for their up and coming wedding reception. Of course I said yes, he’s my brother!!! His future sister in laws had two desserts already on the menu, so cake pops and mini red velvets cupcakes were taken. Also I am going to cheat and take the pictures from the other websites because I forgot to takes pictures. It was a busy week for me and I just wanted to go to bed. I have too many things going on in my life, two jobs, kickball team, hot yoga three times a week, golfing, concerts, and much more. Poor me right 😛

I tried a few different things. I had thought of all my most delicious desserts. So I made those famous Nutella Stuffed Chocolate Chip Sea Salt Cookies. Surprisingly they were not chosen out of the group of desserts as a favourite! I was kind of shocked. (see previous blog for link and recipe).

247ece6432a1c9da3c09a558d33634e9

Second sample: Mini pies. Self-explanatory: take a standard pie recipe and bake them in tiny cupcake trays. Coat the tray with shortening and dust with flour. I used the top of a wine glass as a shape cutter and a shot glass for the top of the pie. Place bigger dough piece in the tray and fill with filling. Place top dough over and seal with the tip of a fork. Bake for 10-15 minutes depending on the size. I made mediums and mini ones. Here is a link for one version.

http://www.adventuressheart.com/2011/08/mini-cherry-pies.html

ab6717a66897715040511718c2949242

34036b58f8d6c4c11550dafbc5949d74

Third sample: S’more Cupcakes. Damn these are sooooooo ridiculously difficult to make. I was dying to go to bed that night so that may have made it seem ten times worst than it did. I felt like I was reading the recipe several times with blurry eyes. My husband and I shared one right after I made them. They were delicious, but the marshmallow foam icing was so hard to eat without getting it all over our mouths and hands (Just like a s’more I guess). I was for sure thinking that it would be a bad idea to have these at a wedding, but also thinking if they did choose it I could make mini ones. Well what do you know, they loved the cupcakes and it was their second favourite out of the bunch. I came up with the idea of turning the recipe into bars instead. Easier to make in bulk and less mess with a small dollop of the marshmallow foam. Check out the link.

http://www.marthastewart.com/332838/chocolate-graham-cracker-cupcakes-with-t

c8099f2fdea5c941d2a08226e6cd4a67

Fourth sample: Zucchini Carrot Bars with Cream Cheese Frosting: I think these were my favourite even though I don’t like cream cheese recipes. The moist cake with crunchy pecans or was it walnuts… I don’t remember, anyways it was delicious! But they didn’t top the list, as usual when it comes to desserts with vegetables in them. Can’t compete with pure chocolately goodness. Recipe attached:

http://realmomkitchen.com/7878/carrot-and-zucchini-bars-with-lemon-cream-cheese-frosting/

d56f279613900300920b7b6561af1f99

Fifth sample: Chocolate Coconut Bars (AKA: Magic Bars). These are the easiest desserts to make. This was the top choice for the wedding dessert, which is a surprise since the bride to be is not a huge coconut fan. Just goes to show, you can make anyone like something if it is the right recipe and made with love.

http://www.marthastewart.com/313038/chocolate-coconut-bars#slide_17

edf_jun05_dessert_bar_vert

It is kind of funny that most of these recipes came off of Martha Stewart’s website. I guess she just knows really good recipes. Now to bake like a mad man in September. Make a 100 of the Magic Bars and 100 of the S’more bars, no problem. It’s going to be a massive celebration and I can’t wait.

ADDITION:

So turns out that we were planning way to many desserts for the wedding, so we decided to scrap the magic bars. These are how the bars turned out and it was amazing. A big hit and made way too many so lots leftover for us to enjoy. I found little square silicone baking trays at Micheal’s Craft Store that worked perfectly. Turns out these stay very well in the freezer for a midnight snack down the road, the only problem is you can’t stack them due to the icing. So if you are making lots, be prepared for them to take up your entire freezer. I skipped the part where the recipe said to torch the marshmallow icing for that campfire look. I also forgot to tell you that the icing recipe was attached to the recipe above, but here is the quick link.

http://www.marthastewart.com/314199/marshmallow-frosting

Here is how they turned out.

IMG_20130918_212233

IMG_20130918_212503

Seriously try them for yourself. You won’t be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

