Super Simple Squash: Pumpkin Baked with Rosemary

I was walking in the grocery store the other day buying my usual fruit and vegetables, and happened to pass by pre-cut pumpkin pieces. Now the funny thing is, I have never ever cooked with pumpkin before and have only ever eaten pumpkin pie at Halloween or Thanksgiving. I thought hmmm why not.

I came up with the easiest recipe in the entire world. I kid you not. This was a melt in your mouth tasty treat to go with your steak and salad type dish.

Ingredients:

Pumpkin

Olive Oil

Salt

Pepper

Rosemary

Directions: Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Cut the thick skin off the pumpkin. Cut into cubes about 3×3 cm. Place them on the baking sheet and drizzle olive oil all over. Sprinkle salt and pepper over top. Take a fresh rosemary twig and pull all the leaves off, sprinkling them on top of the pumpkin. Bake at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for about 40 minutes.

Image

Didn’t I tell you it was the easiest thing to make? We ate it with an elk steak and a side of Asian slaw. My husband loved it and kept asking whether I smoothered it in maple syrup. I would throw this into the category of delicious comfort food that you could eat year round, as long as the grocery store provides pumpkins. I know what I’ll be making more of this Halloween season…not Jack’ O Lanterns.

Image

Leave a Reply

