Squash Time

Roasted Rosemary Apples, Beets and Butternut Squash

I was looking for a healthy hearty side dish to make to bring to my brother’s house for dinner. I had tons of beets that I purchased from the farmer’s market. I came across this recipe from Pinterest and it looked intriguing and pretty to make as well. 

Personally I would make it even heartier by swapping out the apples for the potatoes instead. But it turned out my sister in law like the apples in them. Maybe it might make it to Thanksgiving dinner, but I am holding out for something more delicious. So far the Rosemary Baked Pumpkin (previous post) is at the top of the list. 

20130917_153356

It was pretty simple to make.
Here is the link to the recipe.

http://westernlivingmagazine.com/FD/Recipe/Rosemary-Roasted-Apples-Beets-and-Butternut-Squash.html

Butternut Squash with Cripsy Shallots, and Mahi Mahi Tuna, Steelhead Trout baked with Mango Salsa and Balsamic Vinegar.

I had leftover butternut squash to make. I decided to use it up in a simple way. I cooked up some shallots in olive oil till they were crispy. Baked the squash on parchment paper in the oven, at 400 degrees for 40 minutes. Top the squash with the cripsy shallots.

My husband like this recipe, but once again it just doesn’t compare to the Rosemary Baked Pumpkin. 

The fish was easy, I topped it with the Mango Salsa that you get from Costco, drizzled it with balsamic vinegar, and baked in for 20 minutes. The salad in the picture is the amazing kale super salad (also from Costco).

IMG_20130923_182247

Leave a Reply

